Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
News & Events Archives

Heads of States, Foreign Ministers and Nobel Peace Prize Laureates to take part in the 7th Ministerial Conference of the Community of Democracies, held in Ulaanbaatar on April 27-29

On April 27-29 in Ulaanbaatar, the President of Mongolia will host the 7th Ministerial Conference of the Community of Democracies. The Ulaanbaatar Ministerial Conference expresses the rise of democracy in Asia, hoping to launch an Asian network of democratic countries. It will bear witness to a re-energized Community of Democracies, ready to act as a leading actor in the scene of democracy promotion in the world.

Different Heads of State and Foreign Ministers will take part in the conference, among them the President of Nigeria, Mr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, and Prime Minister of Thailand, Mrs. Yingluck Shinawatra; EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Baroness Catherine Ashton; UN Under-Secretary-General; Foreign Ministers of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Slovakia, Serbia and Ukraine. The Ministers will interact with leading democracy actors: Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Aung San Suu Kyi and Tawakkol Karman, UN Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Association, Maina Kiai, heads of the international organizations – International IDEA, OSCE, NDI, IRI and NEDcivil society activists from all over the world, members of parliaments and invitees from the private sector.

During the conference, government and civil society representatives will discuss a variety of topics, such as the current threats against civil society and freedom of expression and inclusion of democracy in the new Millennium Development Goals. The conference will also provide a platform for exchange of experiences between democratic actors in non-free countries.

The Community of Democracies

The Community of Democracies is currently the only inter-governmental organization in the world established on the sole basis of shared commitment to democratic values and practices. It was founded in 2000, by initiation of the governments of Poland and the United States, with the aims of serving as platform for promoting democratic norms and values around the world, assisting societies in the process of development and consolidation of democratic institutions, and supporting and defending civil society in all countries.

The Permanent Secretariat of the Community is located in Warsaw, Poland, since 2009. It serves the Governing Council, comprised of 24 committed democracies, the Executive Committee, and a rotating Presidency. The current Presidency is being held by Mongolia since 2011 During the Ministerial Conference in Ulaanbaatar it will be officially handed over to El Salvador, which will hold the term until 2015.

Please visit the following websites:

Official Website of the Community of Democracies:

Official Website for the Mongolian Presidency of the CD and the 7thMinisterial Conference of the CD:

Blog for Civil Society Representatives in the Ministerial Conference:

Official Facebook page of the Community of Democracies:

Twitter Account for the Community of Democracies:
@CommunityofDem (Hashtag for the Ministerial Conference: #ubministerial)

For more information, please contact:

Daniel Slomka, Communications Officer, Permanent Secretariat of the CD
Tel: (+48) 22 319 56 25

Media Office of the Mongolian Presidency of the Community of Democracies: